a view to bringing as many properties as possible to a state of revenue production; and, finally, public lands, at one time alienated, but which have been re-vested in the Crown in the right of the Dominion for various reasons, and upon which public monies have been spent.

The great bulk of the land areas under Dominion administration are those of Yukon and the Northwest Territories, amounting to about 936,680,000 acres or 42 p.c. of the land surface of Canada. The southern border of both Yukon and the Northwest Territories is 60°N. latitude. In Europe, Oslo, Stockholm and Leningrad are near this line, while about three-fourths of Norway, two-thirds of Sweden, all of Finland and a large proportion of Russia are north of it. In Table 1 a distinction has been made between those Dominion lands which are still freely disposable by the Dominion Government, and those which have been set aside as National Parks, under the National Parks Acts, or as Indian reserves, by Treaty. The total Dominion lands can be easily obtained by adding Items 27, 28 and 29.

Interest in this northern part of the national domain has increased in the past decade and the administration of these lands was placed under a separate branch of the Dominion Government, the North West Territories and Yukon Branch of the Department of the Interior, until 1931, when, on the transfer of the natural resources of Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and of the Railway Belt and Peace River Block of British Columbia to the respective provincial administrations, it was vested in the Dominion Lands Administration, now the Lands, Northwest Territories and Yukon Branch of the Department of the Interior. The Royal Canadian Mounted Police maintain law and order throughout the Northwest Territories and Yukon. More detailed particulars of the administration of each territory follow:—

The Northwest Territories.—The government of the Northwest Territories is vested in a Commissioner, a Deputy Commissioner, and a Council of five members with Ottawa as the seat of Government. The administration is carried on by the Department of the Interior through the Lands, Northwest Territories and Yukon Branch. The Territories are subdivided for administrative purposes into the provisional districts of Mackenzie, Keewatin and Franklin. The district of Mackenzie is, as yet, the most widely known and developed, trading posts and settlements being located all along the great stretch of inland waterways known as the Mackenzie system. Fort Smith, the headquarters of the Mackenzie district, is located on the Slave river north of the rapids. From this point there is uninterrupted navigation to the Arctic ocean, a distance of 1,369 miles and along the Arctic coast as far east as King William island.

The Administration has provided for a medical and nursing service, grants to the Anglican and Roman Catholic missions for education and hospitals, an 87473-70